//
you're reading...
designs, Linux, ubuntu

make your gnome like windows 7


P.S: NOW you can Subscribe to Am!NeS0Ft’s blog by Email

Well I know alot of you have already downloaded the new Windows 7 Beta, I took the liberty of doing just the same as all of you already have, the only difference is I did with with entirely different motives. I had a good look at it, and I must be honest, its far better than Vista, possibly even better than XP, but thats not why I have made this post.

first : 1. Download Win7 Transformation Pack for Ubuntu

2. and downlowd WallpaperPack

P.S: NOW you can Subscribe to Am!NeS0Ft’s blog by Email
The reason I got on to this was to show the world what I have done with it, and lo behond, look in the images below to see:

Now that seems like not much, until I tell you that that is NOT Windows 7, infact, you will find that it is Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex, so how did I do it? Thats what this is about.

The Window Theme
Firstly I installed emerald in the terminal: “sudo apt-get install emerald”. From there I went into the Control Centre, found the Sessions settings and added “emerald –replace” to it, so that it started with Ubuntu.

Then you will need to install a theme for it, now the theme I installed is custom created using images from TrueTransparency for XP.

I will upload the created theme when my webhost comes back online…

You install the emerald theme by opening the Emerald Theme Manager in your Control Centre and clicking on “Import” before finding the .emerald file.



The GTK Theme

Again, a custom created theme by me, using some of the images from the aero-clone theme (which will suffice for now if you cannot download my one). You install by placing the folder in the /home/USER/.themes/ .

The Icons
Again, the icons are also custom made (or taken from Windows 7 itself), however if you cannot download my icons then you should get the aero icons which I could not find the link for anywhere but I am sure are on Gnome-look.org somewhere.

The Desktop Wallpaper
The desktop wallpaper (also taken from Windows 7) can be found here:

The “StartBar”
The startbar at first is quite simple, it is a single 40pixel high Gnome-Panel, with the time, notification area and volume control on the right, thats where the basic stuff simplifies.

Firstly I am using QuickLounge for the quicklaunch icons, then I am using TaskDock for the Icon only window list. For the bar itself I am setting the background to be the following image: StartbarImage This should add a certain level of “transparency” to the bar. If you are not using my custom gtk theme, this is where you might notice a rather ugly difference.

Secondly. for the showdesktop button I use the following image: ShowDesktop
It is simply a launcher, which points to the file: /bin/bash /home/USERNAME/showdesk.sh

You will now create that file, with the following inside it:
#!/bin/bash cat showdesk.macro | xmacroplay “:0.0”

In the same folder, create “showdesk.macro”, with this in it:
KeyStrPress Control_L KeyStrPress Alt_L KeyStrPress d KeyStrRelease d KeyStrRelease Alt_L KeyStrRelease Control_L

You also need to install xmacro to get this to function, so ”
apt-get install xmacro” in the terminal.

The Start Button
This part explains how I created my start button. First you will need to download GnoMenu from Gnome-Look.org. Then you will need my set of themes.

Congratulations, if I didnt miss anything out, you now have a fully working replica of Microsofts Windows 7 on your Ubuntu 8.10 machine.

A download link for all of the needed files in a 7zip archieve is on its way, look here for an edit with it.

EDIT: Very Kindly offered by David, the webmaster of http://www.tulinux.org/
We now have download links which should be a little more permenant:

Download GnoMenu Files

Please use these download links only if the above fail: Download

P.S: NOW you can Subscribe to Am!NeS0Ft’s blog by Email

About abdessemed mohamed amine

DZ-SECURITY

Discussion

36 thoughts on “make your gnome like windows 7

  1. Well Written Cheers….

    Posted by techmowgli | March 4, 2009, 15:26
  2. Cheers..Well Written

    Posted by techmowgli | March 4, 2009, 15:40
  3. like KDE 4.2

    Posted by navirat | March 7, 2009, 13:35
  4. very cool 🙂

    Posted by mahmoud | March 11, 2009, 06:14
  5. thankx mahmoud

    Posted by aminesoft | March 14, 2009, 12:04
  6. I liked the desktop you created out of gnome alot. I have linux mint and I have the .7z package you have provided. But I couldn’t follow you properly and unable to have windows7 look alike desktop. Please help in detail with respect to the package u have provided..

    Posted by Bibek | August 30, 2009, 18:41
  7. I am not able to download the file you provided.

    Something wrong with Rapidshare

    Posted by Bram | October 18, 2009, 21:03
  8. Also, the panel image is 1280 wide, whereas my screen is 1400 wide, and the right side of the panel now has a strange blue spot, the size of the “show desktop” button you made. this spot, however, is not in the far right corner, so it looks very ugly.

    Otherwise, great work.

    Posted by Bram | October 18, 2009, 21:51
  9. I tried this on 9.10, and it doesnt work so well
    there isnt a .themes folder in USER, so I made one, but nothing happens
    any help with jaunty or karmic?

    Posted by Josh | November 10, 2009, 18:25
    • This is Win7 Transformation pack for ubuntu (all)

      This Package contains:

      GDM theme*
      Icons Theme*
      GTK Theme
      Wallpapers
      Sounds
      Gnomenu theme*
      Panel Backgrounds*
      Cursor theme
      DockBar

      Download Win7 Transformation Pack for Ubuntu

      About the sounds, they can’t be installed, just you can replace the ubuntu original sounds or configure you preferences souns at

      System / Preferences /Sounds or copying at /usr/share/sounds (accessing as root) and save the folder there or replace the original sounds. (because of they have the same name).

      good luck 😉

      Posted by abdessmed mohamed amine | November 10, 2009, 21:19
  10. I followed the instructions and everything works and looks fantastic…
    The only problem I have is that when I click the Videos folder in Gnomenu, nothing happens. I’m using the Windows 7 gnomenu theme. I can click on it and it opens when I use any other theme…
    The rest of the folder – Home, Pictures, Music, Documents – open fine..
    If I click gnomenu icon –> Places –> Videos, it opens without a problem…

    Here’s what I’m using:
    Ubuntu x86_64 9.10 (karmic)
    Gnomenu 2.2.2-1
    Win7 Transformation Pack for Ubuntu (obviously) 🙂

    Posted by Gerry | December 25, 2009, 00:25
  11. Sorry for the question but I’m a complete N00b with Linux. Can you provide more detailed instructions on how to make everything work so that my end results look exactly like yours?

    Posted by Chris | December 30, 2009, 19:19
  12. Клёво

    Posted by lilo | February 12, 2010, 12:32
  13. about The GTK Theme wht should we do after copying that folder?

    Posted by رضا | February 24, 2010, 22:58
  14. I personaly wouldn’t ever want a 7 look, but it goes to show what Gnome is capible of. I’ve been a sucker for the Elementary themes and hacks lately. I don’t miss Apple software so much, but the overall look and feel is nice to have handy to couple with all the great software available.

    Same can be said for Windows users too. Good to know.

    Posted by factotum218 | July 17, 2010, 00:14
  15. thank you very cool

    Posted by Türkh Web Tasarım | August 3, 2010, 10:26
  16. Great article. Waiting for more.

    Posted by Horacio Ciarlo | February 23, 2011, 20:16
  17. plase send me the transmation pack pleseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Posted by dvv.avinash | February 24, 2011, 16:39
  18. could you plesee send me this transmation pack with http://www.wikisend.com

    Posted by dvv.avinash | March 14, 2011, 06:39
  19. plese send me this transmation pack

    Posted by dvv.avinash | March 14, 2011, 06:49
  20. thanks very good site

    Posted by tabela | March 16, 2011, 21:00
  21. Is this compatible with ubuntu 10.04? I am having the following problems:

    1st
    I am stuck at the beginning of these steps. I am in control center and I do not see sessions.

    2nd
    I downloaded the “Win7 Transformation Pack for Ubuntu,” “WallpaperPack,” and “True Transparency for XP” but when use the import menu in Emerald Theme Manager, there are no “.emerald” files.

    3rd
    The blog for “aero-clone” has been removed.

    4th
    Quicklounge has been removed or deleted by the uploader

    I’m sure there are other problems too but I think I should probably figure these out before I continue.

    Any advice?

    Posted by Ryan | April 4, 2011, 04:49
  22. could you please send me file with other website

    Posted by avinash | June 21, 2011, 12:14
  23. Wow, incredible blog structure! How long have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The whole look of your site is excellent, as smartly the content material!

    Posted by Ollie | August 10, 2011, 17:11
  24. http://www.reklamdijital.com
    Reklamda tek adres
    tabela, araç kaplama, tasarım, reklam, matbaa, promosyon, organizasyon, tanıtım, malzeme satış, display ürünleri, yönlendirme sistemleri, led, neon , araç renk değişimi, fuar ürünleri vb.
    gibi birçok alanda siz değerli müşterilerimize hizmet vermekteyiz.
    Ürün ve tüm detayları görmek için lütfen
    http://www.reklamdijital.com
    adresini ziyaret ediniz.

    Posted by Tuncay Öztaş | September 26, 2011, 22:09
  25. I want to make my Windows 7 like GNOME 😀

    Posted by VoldaCZ | October 4, 2011, 21:44
  26. Then you will need my set of themes. I have linux mint and I have the . Please help in detail with respect to the package u have provided.com to post a comment to your blog.Hey i do like the post it is very nice . I do read this and enjoyed it let me know if you post any new.

    Posted by JaramacyC | October 19, 2011, 04:25
  27. http://www.tabelafiyatlari.com.tr/
    Tabelada tek adres
    tabela, araç kaplama, tasarım, reklam, matbaa, promosyon, organizasyon, tanıtım, malzeme satış, display ürünleri, yönlendirme sistemleri, led, neon , araç renk değişimi, fuar ürünleri vb.
    gibi birçok alanda siz değerli müşterilerimize hizmet vermekteyiz.
    Tabela ve Tabela Fiyatlarımızı görmek için lütfen
    http://www.tabelafiyatlari.com.tr/
    adresini ziyaret ediniz.

    Posted by tabela | January 2, 2012, 20:10
  28. The blog is wonderful i like reading your posts. Keep up the great work!
    You already know, lots of persons are hunting round for
    this info, you could help them tremendously.

    Posted by Hassan | December 14, 2012, 13:46
  29. I’m more than happy to find this site. I need to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to look at new things on your web site.streetdirectory

    Posted by streetdirectory | July 4, 2013, 00:45

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: "Off Topic" User Desktops - Seite 131 - TweakPC Hardware Forum - May 23, 2010

Leave a Reply

Facebook

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 365,173 Visit !
